Advise me on R:R for scalping 0.02 and 0.03

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by birdman, Jul 26, 2018.

1. birdman

birdman

I'm still learning intraday. Today i had 9 round trips, 8 were profitable and 1 stop.

I only trade the same 1 stock and 3 ETFs.

Positive trades average .02 target (some .01 and some 0.03). Stats show i need double the risk to reward, or a .04 stop or even .05. Most of what i read, makes me want to limit to 1:1 R:R, but thus far, i don't see how. Maybe i should sharpen my entry skills.

I you scalp for .02 and .03 is your R:R 2:1, 1:1 or what works for you?

2. You make money scalping for .02 gross? what about after commissions and taxes? Just curious....

FreakofNature and trader99 like this.
  3. trader99

trader99

I scalp futures. But I think scalping for 2 cents is not enough to cover cost and losses. You can barely beat commissions. Even in futures, I try to go for multiple NQ/YM points when possible.

4. maxinger

maxinger

I posted following info somewhere else.
    So I will post here too.
    I don't know what type of scalpers u are.
    you can read my posting to have some idea.

Nowadays heavy scalpers find trading difficult because there are algos.
    Algos use powerful computers and programs with various strategies
    and tricks and secrets to beat the market.

I classify futures day traders into 3 categories:

light scalpers
    they trade few lots in a day.
    they look at charts. they target reward risk ratio > 2:1
    stop loss could be say 12 ticks for NQ, ES, gold

medium scalpers
    they trade tens of lots in a day.
    they target RR > 1:1
    they take every twist and turn from the charts.
    stop loss could be say 10 ticsk for NQ, ES, gold

heavy scalpers.
    they trade hundreds of lots in a day.