Advice requested from seasoned future scalpers

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by anglagard, Feb 1, 2012.

1. I'm a discretionary non automated futures / etf / forex scalper, sometimes intraday swing trader. Doing fairly well but feel like I could do much better if I found the solution to my big puzzle.

I have a bit of a dilemma with my trading style that I can't yet solve so gonna present it to the forum in hopes that someone with more experience than me can shred some light.

When a strong trend has developed I've noticed I can get better rewards when I follow it.

However, my low risk entry techniques are all contra-trend. I'm not very good at finding with the trend low risk entries, therefore, eventhough I recognize the superiority of trend following, my edge lies in contra-trending.

This suggest that I should trade with the trend and use my contra-trend signals as exits, but then what do I use for trend entries ?

Sounds dumb but really missing that big piece of the puzzle.

For instance, say a strong downtrend has developed, I got great techniques for buying the lower lows with low risk, but then they don't run that much, I wish I could take those low risk entries shorting and not buying into the downtrend to obtain the low risk entry plus be able to let the trade run a little further for reward maximization.

Can anyone with more experience help me out, perhaps share some ideas, greatly appreciate it.

Makes me wonder if others are in the same boat or if I'm missing something obvious.

Thanks for reading.

Joe

2. hkrahra

hkrahra

90% in the same boat,don worry

3. jo0477

jo0477