Advice on scalping stocks

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Sassa, Jul 1, 2008.

1. Sassa

Sassa

Hello!

I'd need some advice on scalping stocks. Altough i'm not completely new to trading in general, (i've been trading spot forex for around 5 years now), i recently started scalping stocks and discovered that it's very different to my usual "4 hour timeframe chaos trades". That didn't really surprise me, but since i concentrated on only a few currency pairs and the 4 hour chart, i feel a little lost staring at level 2, times and sales and the tiny 1 minute chart.
    Could anyone of you give me some advice on how to use level2, tas and the chart together? Or maybe, i don't have to combine them? Or should i use the s&p future as a leading indicator?

In forex i used bill william's methods (alligator, AO, Fractals) which worked really well in many timeframes down to 15 minutes, but anything lower doesn't, at least for me. Which, if any indicators do you use for scalping stocks?

Thanks in advance!

Regards,

Sassa

2. Trade 100 shares and don't lose more than $50-100/day... keep your losses under 10 cents... always have an out... since you're new you'll miss your out a lot at first, but learn to anticipate that - the game is RISK MANAGEMENT, if you can get out when you expect to you're on your way to making money... use charts to determine direction and if charts coincide with what the book + T&S tells you then great, but be willing to always switch directions when you see it in the book/tape... this is an edge, scalpers can see when the chart pattern will fail and find a book-based setup to manage risk and capitalize off people bailing out.... good luck. Remember: SMALL LOSER!

3. bighog

bighog Guest

almost time to get trading but thought i would throw this in.

There is a big difference between RISK management and MONEY management. Best to understand the difference in giving advice to a new trader. Good luck, lets get some handles in the ES.

4. Sassa

Sassa