Advice on platform choice

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by aczk, Oct 23, 2011.

1. aczk

aczk

Hi All

Looking for some feedback/relevant experiences on starting systematic trading. I have a quantitative background and I am looking to start trading full-time in a systematic and automated manner. Three questions that I need help on before starting for real.

What platform do you recommend given that I have no programming experience. Platforms like Tradestation/Multicharts seem exceptionally easy to master, but how flexible is the language, for example can one create own indicators/statistics based on quatitative/econometric models? (Muilticharts feedback is that one can build such with C externally as a dll !?).
    Just want something that does not limit the user to technical analysis and where one can apply statistics/maths easily and flexibly.

Seems that there is no real alternative to learning programming. Which language do you guys recommend, I am thinking C.Sharp which would run with Ninjatrader (which seems good?) and also seems to work with other relatively professional platforms.

Is the data provided by Interactive brokers sufficient for backtesting short term strategies, saw a lot of limitations mention all over the place??

Thanks & appreciate any qualified feedback!!!!
    Al

2. IMO, use Amibroker www.amibroker.com it's the most flexible and the fastest one I know of and it's very reliable not like that buggy slow sh+t called ninjatrader. Also it provides a free API http://www.amibroker.com/devlog/200...ent-kit-adk-for-cc-now-available-to-everyone/ update, http://www.amibroker.com/devlog/2010/04/20/new-amibroker-development-kit-2-10-released/ . And if you wanna program in C# then you can do that too. See here http://www.dotnetforab.com/

The built-in language of Amibroker called AFL already is very flexible and efficiently. And codes written in AFL are one of the shortest.

For back-testing I wouldn't use IB data.