Advice on Market Making (equities)?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by sf631, Feb 22, 2012.

1. sf631

sf631

I am a systems trader with a statistical arbitrage bias and primarily focus on capturing alpha through anticipating short/medium term movements of equities based on proprietary views of "fair value". I have generally been a liquidity taker, though I have experimented with some very crude liquidity providing approaches (PEG orders) with not great results. I get good returns but give up 100 bps or so each month with exchange rebates. Additionally, the equities I focus on are not highly liquid and I expect I'll pay a higher penalty as my capital size scales up.

I am really interested in shifting into more of a liquidity providing model, essentially taking the same directional bets but doing so in a way where I can also capture B/A spread and rebates, essentially an informed trader / market-maker hybrid.

Can anyone recommend a good book, blog, or generally helpful ET forum member who could get me up the learning curve for how to go down this path? The books I've seen out there don't really cover this topic (including one called Secrets of the Market Maker or something like that...) and the coverage I have seen seem to be more focused on options+equity market making, which is also not my interest area because my focus is on stocks that typically don't have options.

While I'm not interested in competing for HFT/UHFT strategies (too many others with better gear and C++ skills) I have read Aldrige's recent book as well as "Algo Trading & DMA" for ideas.

I'm sure there are some MM 101 principles that I need to follow to avoid getting eaten alive. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

2. Once you get a buy/sell signal, just place a limit order instead of taking liquidity.

3. sf631

sf631