Advice on Long term Option positions

Discussion in 'Options' started by Bombul, Feb 4, 2010.

1. Bombul

Bombul

Dear all,

Thank you for taking the time to read my thread. I am considered a new options trader since I merely started about half a year ago. I have some basic knowledge about options i.e. the greeks, volatility etc.

I am contemplating using options as a means to track the long term movement of a stock. Buying the underlying stock with covered writes is considered a conservative strategy; unfortunately, I don't quite have sufficient capital to buy a considerable amount of stocks and options at the same time.

I would like to seek some advice on using simple long options to leverage without buying the stock. For example, I have identified a trend for a stock lasting 3-6 months, or 6 months to a year.

Questions:

1. Am I able to buy the corresponding leaps option for 1 or 2 years and hold?
    2. If so, how deep in the money should I be?
    3. What kind of risk/reward ratio can I expect? (I have run some numbers and I do not seem able to generate favourable ratios using the analyser)
    4. Are there any particular books out there that touches specifically on long term options strategy that you guys have read which are good, particularly pertaining to long options rather than covered writes?

I have never tried naked writes since I am aware how sudden movements can even bankrupt traders with stop losses.

Please advise, thank you! If there are already similiar threads/topics, I apologise, kindly direct me with the links.

2. brad52

brad52

I limit losses to 1 % of capital. I give a trade room and by this I mean 50% of amount at risk and Im out. No deviation. I want to make 100% on a trade or more and expect 60% losers.

You can hold LEAPS till expiration but I wouldn't. Helpful?

3. wouter

wouter