Advice needed about pursuing MS in financial engineering

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by ash_the_ace, Dec 22, 2008.

1. I am a Caltech electrical engineering graduate who wants to pursue a MS in financial engineering. I wanted some information/advice from anyone who can help. Answers to any of the questions will be appreciated:

1. How to find out about good part time financial engg programs

2. Realistic job placement % these days with hedge funds

3. Whether recruiters look differently at someone who did MSFE full time vs part time

4. Whether my GRE scores from my masters in elec engg can be used to apply for a masters in fin engg too. I took GRE 2 .5 years back.

Thank You for reading.

2. drjmpc

drjmpc

There is no such thing as a real, top teir "part-time" Financial Engineering program.

of the Full time programs worth talking about:
    UCLA has a decent program as does Claremount Graduate, and of course Haas & Standford have excellent programs.

Washington U just started offering an Applied Mathematics in Mathematical Finance online.

But the online Master of Science in Financial Engineering @ Stevens Institute of Technology is the only thing that I know that is remotely a "part-time" program. I would started there if you're looking for a such a program, but you should already be strong in math if headed there.

per AdvancedTrading.com, these are the Top 10 Quant schools from which Quantitative Analysts & Financial Engineers will be recruiter first:

Carnegie Mellon University
    Columbia University
    Cornell University
    New York University
    Princeton University
    Rutgers University
    Stanford University
    University of California at Berkeley
    University of Chicago
    University of Michigan

Honorable mentions:
    Baruch College
    Boston University
    Georgia Institute of Technology
    University of Toronto