Advice - moving from part-time to full-time

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by trumptrader, Oct 13, 2009.

1. Hi Folks,

I have been trading Forex for 2 years, with the last year being profitable. I trade my own account on a part-time basis and am quite successful at it.

I currently hold a full-time day job that doesn't involve trading but would love the opportunity to move into trading full-time.

What options do I have knowing that I am self taught and I don't have a degree? I've read about prop trading houses but really do not want to deposit any sort of cash since I am already making money on my own account.

I average about 10-15% per month.

Thanks

2. 1) How many dollars per month is that?
    2) Keep your day job until you have atleast 24 months of living expenses accumulated in your checking account. :cool:

3. "1 year" does not mean you are successful

What is your Profit Factor, Sharpe/Sortino Ratio, Drawdown, etc.?

How MUCH profitable were you during "last year?" 10-15% a month on a $10,000 account does not mean much. You can just as easily LOSE 10-15% for a year.

How much do you have socked away OUTSIDE your trading account) I agree with "24 months" post above. Trading that must support living costs is called "scared trading."

Giving up a job in a lousy economy, with benefits etc. to trade. Once you are out for a period of time, you might find it hard to get back into industry, once the inevitable "Risk of Ruin" blows you out once or twice. The market has a habit of sudenly blowing you out, regardless of your strategies, protections and cleverness.

Try being profitable or THREE+ years before thinking you ahve arrived. And why don't you just ramp up your account for part-time trading if you are making 10-15% monthly?

4. OP,

Congratulations on your recent year of continuing success.

The rest of my post will be convoluted and, of course, my first post in every thread is pontificating.