Advice from you experienced traders

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by maxpower, Feb 18, 2008.

1. maxpower

maxpower

I'd first of all like to introduce myself as a new member of this forum and say I hope to learn as well as meet acquaintances. I wanted to ask you more experienced traders for advice on my personal situation. I currently have a senior career in the IT field but have become bored and disinterested. I picked up interest in the stock market during summer last year and have been studying as well as trading. This field is very interesting because it can be extremely complex. I'm looking for a way to transfer into this field, either by myself or through a company. Do any of you have suggestions as to how I should do this? I find that my day job is too engrossing to allow me to trade and research as needed. Should I go part time or simply get a job in the field? Thanks!

2. Don't give up your day-job. Try to develop a longer-term oriented method that won't require constant attention. Your method ought to be simple to implement, not "complex". Over-educated, introverted, quantitative-minded people have the misguided notion that trading should be difficult to comprehend. It doesn't have to be that way.

3. maxpower

maxpower

Thanks Nazz. The thing is, I think my day job has become rather useless. It is knowledge that I will never be able to use in real life. Therefore, I kind of view it as a waste of time. At least if I'm trading, this can benefit me in my personal goals and life. This is the decision I face.

4. volcanik

volcanik

maxpower, I am in a similar situation. I support a trading application system at a Wall street firm, but I am not interested in working here much longer. I just joined this forum in my searching around the web.

since aug. 2007, I have been playing options. I came out with about 6 K in 3 months after some heavy losses and wins. I still trade options part time whenever my job allows me to do some research.