Advice for young trader

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by shotstakovich, Oct 18, 2016.

1. I'm a recent graduate and trying to figure out how to become a successful trader/investor. I am looking for some career and trading advice, as well as making new connections if anyone is open.

My background is in fundamental value stock picking, however I've started to move more into longer-term options trading. I manage a really small account (less than $10,000), so this is all really just for educational purposes.

Most of my option trades have been pretty successful (anywhere from 90% - 294% returns), but I've also had my share of mega losses as well, mostly stemming from really concentrated long exposures in highly risky companies (they have been great lessons in position sizing).

For options, I find attractive risk/reward situations on a fundamental basis, and then go long the options where the IV does not reflect my view of the fair value of the stock.

Career-wise I have been less successful. I've applied to most investment banks and value-oriented hedge funds, but have been unsuccessful in getting even a first round interview. I understand that "high finance" usually hires elite kids from ivy league schools, so that's probably why.

What do people think about First New York Securities as a starting point? I reached out to a PM there who told me it's really entrepreneurial. Is it a good place to learn, or will I be thrown in the deep end on day 1?

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

Not sure what you mean by that. Implied vol is not directional and does not point to fair value, it is a measure of uncertainty. But, if it works for you, that is great.