advice for newbie trader please

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by futures, Apr 10, 2011.

1. futures

futures

Hi,
    can i first say im glad i found this form, their is so much interesting information and advice here.

i'm quite new to futures trading and have recently opened a mini trading account in the UK to have a dabble with.

my trading strategy is quite simple - im allways looking to get 2/1 for my trade, so i set my stop loss at half of my profit target. once i hit my profit target i half-up my stop loss locking in a guaranteed profit, while letting the extra run for free.

this has worked well for me at first - but i have noticed one issue with stop-losses. a few times recently i have noticed my stop loss hasnt been hit anywhere else other than in the client im using, in other words my stop loss was set at 4.080, my trading platform hi/low says the market hit 4.081(and closed me out) but their own graphs dont shot it hitting anywhere near 4.080.
    also i checked other sources and the high for that day was only 4.078.

my question is, being new to all this is can they close your possition out even if the general price doesnt actually hit your target, should i be wary about who im trading with, or is this a regular pitfall amongst all trading platforms.

thanks.

2. What instrument are you trading?

3. futures

futures

Natural Gas.

4. 1) ?....did you compose your posting on a cellphone? :eek:
    2) Are you trading a "mini" contract but getting your trade signals from a "maxi", i.e. full-size contract? :confused:
    3) You may be trading through a bucket shop that "makes your market" to you instead of trading directly at the exchange? Your broker WILL attempt to "bag" your orders. :(
    4 It would be better to have your account at a "real" firm ASAP. :cool:

5. futures

futures

hi, thanks for your reply.
    im posting from a PC, all looks ok from this side...