Advice for new trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by deb_shaw13, Jun 24, 2009.

1. Hi everyone,

I've decided I'm going to try out trading futures as a part-time career. I want to play with a simulator for 6 months before I start trading with my own capital. I have about $25k saved up for this business venture. I was a part-time research analyst for Refco while in university, so I do have a basic understanding of how this works (I used to cover equities). I also intend to fully document my trading experiences in a blog with ebooks, and I have an ad network lined up that can push traffic to any digital products I publish. I have extensive experience in the internet space, so this is one of my strengths.

I've installed NinjaTrader, signed up for a practice account with Velocity Futures, eSignal and Trade The News. I intend to spend quite a bit on training. I also have a 9-5 job, so my goal is to trade after-hours. I don't want to quit my job and trade full time until I can sustain a basic standard of living.

Here is my dilemma: I know that most of the action is news-driven that occurs during market-hours. What securities should I trade after work? Are there any that display good volatility that make it "fun" to trade? And maybe more importantly, if you were in my position, what would you do to learn futures trading after 6PM Eastern Standard Time (North America)? Thanks for your help everyone,

Deb

2. foreign fixed income such as euribor or short sterling.....you probably need a mentor and alot of time in practice before you start.

3. CME Curriences during London hours ... and for what you're doing here, you don't need Trade the News, it's a waste of money.
    Start studying and researching strategies, risk management and money management.
    Since you're new and exploring the opportunities, try working with the automated trading setups in NT, this way you could trade (while keeping an eye on your ATS) and work at the same time.