Advice for Beginners

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by legend4life, Aug 4, 2007.

1. Hi all,

I am new both to ET and to the trading world. I am a Finance/Internal Audit/mis student in college, going into my senior year. I have taken a couple finance courses so I have some understanding of the basics.

I would like to get started in stock trading to make some money of course. I have probably 1k right now to start with that won't hurt that much if I lose it. My professor recommended getting started by buying the S&P500 SPDR ETF as a diversified investment in stocks that will earn a solid long term return, based on the general return on the stock market. I am thinking of opening an E*Trade account to start with.

I realize I am a beginner and this is Elite Trader, but if you are going to flame, please just move on with your busy lives and don't waste my time or yours. Everyone was a beginner once and had to start somewhere, and I'm sure could have used direction from those with experience.

Other than that, any and all input is appreciated. I would love to hear any suggestions, advice, tips on the above, and your own input on how and where to start.

Thank you!

2. kwtrade

kwtrade

Hi,

I'm pretty new too, so I'm sure it's not my advice you want.

Except, don't worry about the flamers. They are in every forum I've ever read. You will be flamed and it is perhaps like losing money while trading. Just happens. But in the case of flamers, don't waste time replying or feeling hurt or annoyed. Why anyone would waste their time being mean and negative is beyond me. But people do, so don't focus on them.

Good luck!

3. Welcome to ET.

My only comment would be that you should make sure you're clear about the difference between trading for income and investing. Not sure what your professor meant by telling you that you should get started in trading by buying a SPDR as a 'diversified investment'.