Advice for a Systems Programmer

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by ratso_rizzo, Dec 28, 2012.

1. Hi Folks,

I am new to posting on this; I've been just a reader for a while, so let me introduce myself. In my day job, I am a systems programmer in the IT field. I've written a trading system that's been running well for the past year.

I don't have a ton of money, so the system I have is very risk averse. The return is only about 9%, but I have beaten the market in that the system earns consistently month-to-month and is market neutral. I could have gotten better returns had I used some leverage, or even increased my position sizes without using leverage, but again, I am a risk averse person, and the system I made is risk averse.

Allow me to post some statistics (S&P 500 performance in parentheses) for YTD:

Max Drawdown: 2.8% (9.6%)
    Sharpe Ratio: 2 (1.2)

My question to you, the experienced traders, is what my next step should be. One option I've considered is, having shown with statistical significance that the system works through backtests and a year of real trading, is to up my leverage to 6x, or increase the leverage even further by buying options contracts on the underlying securities (I am trading long/short S&P 500 components).

But it seems like a better plan would be to find some institutional money, according to the thread:

Forums ›› Trading for a Living ›› Career Trader ›› A Fund vs. Your Own Money

So my question is, how do I get some of that institutional money? Should I run my system for another few years and come back when I have a longer track record?

Or, is it possible that given a record with enough trades to be statistically significant and a system that would easily be defined as low-risk by any institutional risk model, that this track record would be at all interesting to an institutional investor?

Thanks.

2. drm7

drm7