Advice for a college student soon to finish

Discussion in 'Hook Up' started by agb1223, Jun 11, 2010.

1. agb1223

agb1223

Hello everyone,

I was looking to seek some advice from those who have experience working for prop firms for someone like myself. I am a college student going into my senior year and I will be graduating next spring. My under-grad degree will be in economics and I have taken classes at school that deal with technical analysis and character of market, along with simulated trading (futures and forex). I have also ventured down to the CBOE in Chicago and have done some option classes there. I have heard some teachers tell me to go along to graduate school and try to get a masters, (which does not make much sense to me, I don't see how taking econometrics courses will help me find a job trading) while others have also said on the contrary. I am from the Chicago area so the CBOE and CME group are near. Does anyone know if these firms are looking for anything specific? Like a cut-off for your GPA (which I should be graduating with a 3.1) or any specific schools? Again, any help is greatly appreciated.

2. I do not consider a prop firm as "getting a job." And even if you get in, your chances are well over 90% you will be sitting at home again within a few months, having learned the hard way that the people who know how to trade ata prop firm do not interact much with the newbies.

Maybe an investment bank/hedge fund/financial services/etc is a job. But with your degree, your GPA, not knowing your school and the other things you describe, I think you are going to find your chances less than 1% of a financial services or real trader job. TA knowledge is not much help. And head knowledge in general is basically only head knowledge, not experience.