Advice about new computer for scalping on Sterling

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rhamos, Feb 2, 2008.

1. rhamos

rhamos

I wish I had found this forum before I purchased my new computer. I thought I had bought a really good one, but after reading a few posts on here (especially lucky bastards advice) I am a little confused. I have been trading for a prop firm for over two years on a fairly old computer (2 core) dell. I will now be trading remotely using the same sterling software. The computer I bought is an acer aspire m5620 with the following specs:
    ram : 3GB DDR2 SDRAM
    hard drive : 500GB 7200RPM SATA
    processor type: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    processor speed: 2.4GHz

It is supposed to be super fast, which is very important to me as I am mainly scalping as well as scanning for stocks constantly. The computer I am using right now is pretty good, although I have experienced slowness in the past (I think they added memory). I am hoping this will be even better . Lucky bastard mentioned in a previous post that sterling is multi threaded (?) and that the processor speed is important . I will also be using windows vista premium, as you cannot apparently purchase the xp any longer. So far the software seems to be compatible (have only set up layouts not traded). I have heard there may be some issues with this also?

Not very good with the technical stuff, so I am hoping someone here can advice me as to whether or not this computer will be fine for what I am doing.
    Thanks in advance!

2. mnx

mnx

Unless you plan on using the API and trading hundreds of symbols at a time, you current setup is more than adequate. Even if you intend to do that your current setup is probably fine.....

I've got a Core2Quad Q6600 as well, (mine is overclocked to 3.3GHz). Works really awesome.

- mnx

3. JB3

JB3

That's a fast setup, probably one of the better ones. The only concern is if Vista is compatible with all of your software. Besides that, it looks good.