Advice about getting in the door

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by entrep101, Sep 3, 2008.

1. entrep101

entrep101

I need some advice about how to break into the financial market to get a job. I graduated with a BS in mechanical engineering last year (07). In 05 my partner and I started a company that we continued to operate and grow after college. We are at a point now where by this time next year we will have either sold this company or my portion will have been bought out.

I have always knows that I wanted to go into finance. Ideally I would like to get on a trading desk in some fashion or another. I have been quite involved in the markets for the last 4 years trading options and futures and keep up with it daily.

How do I pitch myself? Should I take the first part of the CFA in the spring to prove that I have base knowledge even though it is not necessary for the area I want to end up (trading). How do I get in the door with a fund? Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2. Why not just take your own money from selling your company stake and trading it yourself. Why is there any need for a job?

3. There are four types of traders

1 - A trader that can not succeed
    2- A trader that can succeed ONLY when working at a firm
    3 -A trader that can succeed ONLY when using his own money
    4 - A trader that can succeed BOTH with his own funds and or at a firm...and there aren't many of those

4. entrep101

entrep101

I want to get the experience of working at a fund for at least a few years. I also want to gain some operational knowledge. I don’t think i would have a problem working in that environment.

5. JCVR

JCVR