Adjustment

Discussion in 'Options' started by tonylim, Jan 9, 2014.

1. tonylim

tonylim

I am new to Options Trading (about 6 months old, 3 months in demo, 3 months in live). I am mainly sell credit spread (vertical spread). Could be a put or call or both (iron condor) on Equity Index.

I am looking for guide/solution on adjustment. How do you do adjustment when your position is going against you, but not yet hitting your short Strike?

I read from one book ("The Option Trader Handbook: Strategies and Trade Adjustments") that say for credit spread "there are no viable adjustments that can be made to your position without significantly increasing your risk or wiping out the net credit received. Is that so?

Does that mean my only Stop Loss management is the maximum loss between the Strike minus the credit received? That risk/reward ratio is simply too bad for credit spread selling.

2. 1) If you "adjust", you can incur more fees, slippage and aggravation. :(
    2) If you're good with forecasting price direction, you should be trading outrights or debit-spreads instead. :cool:
    3) As a rookie, you might be improperly viewing the "credit" as "free money" merely because it is out-of-the-money. :eek:
    4) To trade credit spreads can be difficult because you have to wait "too long" to get a relatively "small" credit. The market has more time to "ruin" your trade. :mad:

3. Doobs789

Doobs789

Cover and take the loss. You were wrong, get out and trade another day. You will always be adjusting at edge-loss. Why add risk. And don't try to revenge-trade when it bounces back.

4. tonylim

tonylim

1) agreed
    2) not so good about price direction. But using support and resistance, can predict where it will not go.
    3) I am trying to take advantage of time decay
    4) my time to expiration is within 1 month. It is far out of money. So far, it has not hit the strike. But there was once it is too close to strike that make uncomfortable.

5. tonylim

tonylim