Addresses on 1099

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by DataCruncher, Jan 30, 2008.

1. Does anyone know if this could cause any problems:

my broker's 1099 that was sent to the IRS has my old address on it. the 1099 sent to me by my broker has my new updated address.

I am asking because I know the IRS uses computers to check to see if W-2s match up exactly and I'd hate to get flagged over a stupid technicality

2. *bump*

can anybody shed some light on this? has anybody actually been through an IRS field audit where they come and visit your house?

3. Schaefer

Schaefer

I can't speak for the 1099, but one of the W2s I get every year for the last 10 years, has my old address on it. Since I personally pick it up every year, I never bothered to change the old address with my employer.

I've been filing my returns this way for many years, and never a word from the IRS.

Good luck,
    Schaefer

PS: Please consult with an accountant, as your individual performance may vary :D

4. Schaefer,
    Thanks I really appreciate the info. When you file your returns, do you do it electronically? And if so, when you enter into the info into say Turbotax, do you put exactly what it says on the W-2(i.e. the old outdated address) or do you use your new address when you enter the W-2 electronically?
    I know it probably sounds like I'm splitting hairs but I just don't want to get audited over some stupid technicality.

5. Schaefer

Schaefer

That's alright. I've been using Turbo Tax for many years, and no, I never change the address. I always enter the actual address on my W2. In fact, I just let Turbo Tax trasfer all the info from previous year, to current return.

Schaefer