Adding to positions

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by nursebee, Feb 10, 2010.

1. nursebee

nursebee

I am a stock and ETF trader trying to incorporate trend following rules after being unsuccesful with my emotional discretionary trading.

How do you all determine maximum position sizing and how do you add to positions?

My current dilemma is detailed here should you be nosy or want more specifics : http://4nursebee.blogspot.com/2010/02/adding-to-positions.html

2. If you're interested in adding to positions look up scale trading. (google it)

3. Good luck. I myself find trend following much more difficult than any other style of trading.

You can calculate position size using the same method as in swing/position/intraday trading. You must set the maximum risk per position to, say 1% or 2%, and you have to know the stop loss. You can then use the numbers to calculate position size.

If you do not know the stop loss, things get a bit more complicated. One approach involves an estimate of the maximum possible drawdown. Then the per contract capitalization requirement is Cap. per contract = margin + max drawdown

You can then divide your bankroll by that number to get the position size but beware, this approach can lead to excessive drawdown and a very volatile equity curve. It is better to have well-defined stops and use the regular position sizing formula for fixed fractions.

4. ronblack

ronblack

If you don't know your stops well ahead, you are not going to survive long enough.

5. GG1972

GG1972

Shouldnt each position be independent --thats the whole idea behind position sizing.

If your position becomes 3 x risk you take 1/2 off let rest ride until trend changes or trailing stop gets hit.