Adding to positions

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Jake777, Apr 22, 2003.

1. Jake777

Jake777

Hi.

I guess I'm a swing trader. I hold positions from just days to even months. Right now, I am long a stock that is making very good gains. But I feel that I did not do something well. That is adding to my positions.

I have a question. What is a good rule when trying to add positions? What's a good way to add to winning positions?

Thanks in advance for all inputs and comments.

Jake

2. I'm anxious to see how ET members respond to this, the most I have to offer is that one should probably have planned in advance where or when to add to a position.

3. If you're a swing trader, then you add to a position only when there is a pullback to support and volume lighten ups nicely on the pullback. The chart must remain intact as it did when you first bought the stock for a swing trade.

You're not a momentum trader, so you do not add simply because it is strong.

If you want to truly incorporate pyramiding up to your style, you should go back to your past trades and see if this would have truly benefited your P&L. This is where an analysis spreadsheet of all your past trades proves to be invaluable.

4. Jake777

Jake777

Yes, you're right, rlb. Planning is very important.

I watched this stock for months (literally, every tick), and when it finally broke out, I felt good. Entering the trade was done well, I think (well, I think I did it well, but maybe some people think they could have done better). I bought on 40% retracement, and I got near the bottom of the retracement. I made a big enough bet, so I am doing well right now.

I envisioned the stock breaking out again after a brief consolidation. The stock did break out again. My thoughts were confirmed by volume. I figured that there would be a retracement. There was, but not enough to hit my bid (it missed my limit order by 5 cents). Then the stock took off again.