Adding/Removing Liquidity & collecting ECN Fees

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by Empresario__, May 23, 2012.

1. I am new to the ECN world...
    When I add liquidity i am basically selling a stock right?
    and if I Remove liquidity I am buying?

also... how can people buy and sell at the same price and still generate ECN fees when say BATS pays roughly 2.5/1000 shares but commissions are more than that? I pay 6.5/1000 shares and i would have to sell it at least +.02 cents to profit if i collected ECN fees. Even if I collected the 2.5/1000 wouldn't i have to route it somewhere where they would charge a fee? so technically i am not collecting the 2.5?

2. "Adding" liquidity is when you BUY on the BID and SELL on the ASK, in other words, you're "adding" liquidity to the market.

"Removing" liquidity is the exact opposite, it's when you BUY on the ASK and SELL on the bid. In each of these cases, you are taking liquidity away from the market and hence pay the ECN fee.

Where are you trading? If it's a prop firm, then paying $6.50 per 1,000 is way too high. If it's retail, then you may want to search other firms that have per share pricing and offer ECN rebates.

BATS has decent rebates, so if you want to collect the rebate, you would place an order on the bid side to BUY and place an order to sell on the ASK.

Hope that helps.

3. jo0477

jo0477

Yeah, ScalperJoe is right - $6.50/1k is way high. You should be able to find 0.20/1k in the right environment.

if you're retail, I don't know how many brokers pass through ECN rebates (mine doesn't, I just don't pay for adding liquidity). Probably not a viable strategy based on your cost structure but can always help adjust your cost base.