adding liquidity??

Discussion in 'Trading' started by otherguy, May 23, 2003.

1. otherguy

otherguy

I have read threads on the forums regarding adding and taking liquidity on the ECNs. Apparently the ECNs pay for added liquidity and charge for taking liquidity. How…. Does one add or take liquidity??

I am new to trading and do not know a lot as yet, so thanks for responding.

2. :p who wants to be the first to answer this lamo Q?

3. Easy !!! - he said he was new to trading -- Adding liquidity is when you place a bid or offer on an ECN and you are hit -- as oppossed to taking - which is when you hit a bid or ask posted on an ECN -- It should be noted that even market orders -- on instinet can add liquidity - if you become the bid or ask -- but if you using ARCA or INCA smart orders - which are proactive and search to hit the best price - you are always taking -- even placing a limit order can be taking liquidity - if your price is above the bid or ask ---

4. SUPat

SUPat

Adding Liquidity is pretty simple, you add liquidity if you bid or ask at a price that has not been bid or asked already. On your L2 screen you know you added liquidity when you put in an order and it shows up on the screen. Basically, you take away liquidity because if you did when you put an order in your order entry and you immediately get filled because someone was offering to sell or buy shares from(to) you at the price you entered.

Most ECN's (at least the ones that will pay the rebates) give you .002 per share to add liquidity and will charge you .003 per share if you take away liquidity.