Adaptive models

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by DanMitroi, Mar 10, 2010.

1. DanMitroi

DanMitroi

Hi everyone.

I have been trading systems for two years now and I've recently started researching adaptive models. I'd like to know if there are people here who are trading in a similar way and are willing to exchange ideas.

If yes, I'd like to share my experience and talk about the problems I've stumbled on and hopefully find ways to avoid them.

Thanks in advance.

2. Keep it simple. ideas from systems theory hardly work in practice. Trading is simple. Risk management is difficult as well as discipline. I have several very simple systems that give me very profitable signals. Only if I had followed them I would be retired in Bahamas by now.

Many physicists and engineers rush to trading thinking that they are going to outsmart traders with their hard to understand concepts. Sooner than later they face the power of simplicity, most after they are broke.

3. DanMitroi

DanMitroi

Trust me on this, the systems I am trading are very simple.

However, I have discovered that, while they do work, the results are often more volatile than I would like them to be. Moreover, markets seem to switch among different regimes, which reflects in the p&l of my systems.

Just as an example, I have backtested two systems on (intraday) 2006-2007 data and then traded them in 2008 with very good results, followed by poor results in 2009 due to one of them failing. However, the second system has had consistent results, so my only conclusion is that the problem was not my logic, but rather the market changing.

Right now, I am working on building an engine that can analyze the current environment and decide how to allocate money among the different systems and parameter sets. I'd like to discuss this kind of approach with other people who have worked on something similar.