Ack... IB denied margin account

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by whitetanman, Jan 26, 2009.

1. OK fellows, here is the scenario. I am collecting unemployment since having lost my job in the fall. I was using fidelity with A T margin account, but switched to IB so I can save commission money and get (hopefully) faster executions.

So I completed the account, sent the money (lost two weeks time from closing old account) and went to trade today and it would only let me do it in cash.

So I poke around and find there's a button in account management to go to margin account. So I do that, and I have been denied!

I put 28,500 in there. There's no mention of anything else required. I've been a pattern day trader for two years. Do other brokers require you to also have a JOB while your trading? I meet the fed requirements.

Anyway... I'm very scared now. Have other retail firms required/checked your income before being allowed to open a Margin account? What if this IS my job now?

I'm very concerned I have just been put out of business!! And there sure aren't any jobs to be had anywhere right now.

2. Could not you make stuff up? I am sure either Scottrade, OptionsXpress, Schwab or some other broker will give you a margin account.

3. They had a little drop-down.. Previously I had chosen less than 40K filling out my application. (heck.. nobody really knows what they will make that year in trading)

So when I when to "apply" for margin it said I didn't meet the income requirements, so I bumped it to over 40. It took several hours to get a deny, so I assume not completely automated.

At any rate, for sure I can't keep just trying brokers. I need to know for sure. It will probably take another 2 weeks to get another account going. I'll already have been out of business for a month. I can't keep doing this.