ACD Discussion Forum

Discussion in 'Forex' started by Handle, Mar 14, 2005.

1. Handle

Handle

I would like to commence a discussion thread on the above.

I have been trading ACD on cable for the last three months.

There are many nuances of this method, and it will be helpful for any practitioners to discus these nuances.

Look forward to some input.

Regards
    Handle

2. Handle

Handle

3. Handle

Handle

As an example, today

The daily pivot is 1.9225 - 1.9223, whilst the opening range is below the pivot viz 1.9223 - 1.9188

Thsi sets up a beraish tone to the day, and whilst the market remains under the opening range one would look to sell the market.

In addition, the A down is at 1.9160 and the A up is at 1.9251 which is where one would look to get short or long respectively.

4. Handle

Handle

I have been looking at trading longer term pivot ranges with cable, and they can be quite profitable.

I have noticed though that when the market starts to reverse through a pivot range, there is the possibility of several whipsaws.

For example, today cable broke through the bottom of the 14 day pivot range. This had been bullish since 14 February.

Rather than go short at this juncture, ACD suggest that we wait for an A down. Tomorrow an A down will set up a bearish medium term trade.

A more aggressive trader could short on a break of the pivot range by (say) 10 pips and would have set up a short today at 1.9158 with a stop at 1.9205 for a risk of 47 pips (all excluding spread).

Lets see how that plays out tomorrow.

5. Handle

Handle

Another pivot "play" is to use the 3 day pivot range and trade breaks of that.

This is different from the 14 day trade in that an overnighter is not recommended with the 3 day pivot range.

It also means that there won't be a trade every day.

A break of the 3 day range can have quite a few whipsaws and so is advisable to try and risk to a smaller stop loss than the 14 day pivot.