Account risk

Discussion in 'Trading' started by NanoTick, Feb 13, 2009.

1. I would like to get some advice on ths issue of account safety with brokerage firms. Specifically,

1. Are brokerage accounts at risk due to current financial crisis experienced by banks?

2. Where do brokerages keep our money? It it in another bank?

3. Is there risk from the clearing house?

4. Would you keep over a $100K at one brokerage?

2. Not over 100k in cash, but up to 500k in equities is supposed to be insured by SIPC if your broker participates (for what that's worth - who knows today).

So, SIPC insures 100k in cash, and up to 500k total, if at least 400k of that is in equities.

As far as clearing house, others can answer. My understanding is that it's an insurance pool supported by premiums that member brokers pay into. I'm not sure of insurer or reinsurer.

http://www.sipc.org/

http://www.sipc.org/who/sipc7questions.cfm

http://www.sipc.org/how/sipcprotects.cfm

3. As a day trader I'm all cash after hours. Any solutions?

4. Daal

Daal

Sells EFPs(to generate interest income and be counted as a security, do a search) or buy treasuries

5. MTE

MTE

It also depends on what you are trading. if it's futures then your account is segregated and your money is separate from that of the brokerage/clearing firm.

6. chartman

chartman

NanoTick wrote on:

02-13-09 05:40 AM

I would like to get some advice on ths issue of account safety with brokerage firms. Specifically,

1. Are brokerage accounts at risk due to current financial crisis experienced by banks?

2. Where do brokerages keep our money? It it in another bank?

3. Is there risk from the clearing house?

4. Would you keep over a $100K at one brokerage?
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------