account management

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by jstormbo, Dec 29, 2002.

1. jstormbo

jstormbo

I'm new to ET. Have been following the 'keeping it simple' thread but it's gotten quite long and seems to be getting off track. I've been a poster to that thread but don't feel like I've really contributed anything. Thought I'd start a thread myself that might lead to some productive conversation. One topic is account management. Like many I've gone thru periods of time when I've done really well but have also gone thru times when I've blown more than I would like to admit. Almost a year ago I acknowledged that I needed to incorporate some account managment method into my trading plan to document how many contracts I trade, how to increase my exposure to obtain geometric account growth, how to handle drawdowns etc. Basically how to turn my capital into little employees that will generate a product for me.. $$. Upon a recommendation I used the book by Ryan Jones.. "The Trading Game" as a guideline for my account management plan. He introduces the concept of fixed ratio trading. Is anyone interested in discussing this subject? i.e. account management, not necessarily the one particular method I use although I'm certainly willing to go into details about my account management plan. This may not be as exciting as entry/exit points but I think it's more important to the survival of a trader long term.

Personally, I've traded stocks and options for about 10 years now, became a full time trader about 2 years ago and started trading futures( emini's mainly ES, some NQ) about 18 months ago. Have progressed from a 1 lot trader to up to 12 lot currently.

Stormbo

2. Yes there is most certainly some truth to this assertion... if you haven't done so already, have a look at the work on position sizing by Tharp...

3. Roscoe

Roscoe

I'm currently working through position-sizing methods too, trying to gain some understanding. Hope we can work this through.