About the 95% statistics. Just a question

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Canados, Feb 6, 2008.

1. Canados

Canados

Hi there,
    I read hundreds and hundreds times that 95% traders are losers. I need to know who do they consider a trader?

John is a total newbie and never studied a trading book. He opened an account because he heard that trading can make him rich. He made a couple of trades and blew up his account.

here the question

Is John considered a trader from those who make the statistics?

2. yes

3. I don't know where people get these "statistics".

What seems clear from observation is, that anyone can start trading if they have a few bucks in an account. You don't have to "qualify" or have an education, or have any training...This implies that most retail traders will fail, because they are competing in an arena with skilled professionals....this is just common sense.

That is why retail traders who trade actively are likely to be losers.

It is why longer term investors who take a conservative approach are often net winners.

Its just human nature at work, and I doubt it will ever change.

4. lindq

lindq

Obviously, no one keeps statistics on the success or failure of traders. (With the possible exception of prop shop owners, who ain't saying.) To do so would require some sort of registration or tracking mechanism. God forbid.

But I think it's fair to say that of 100 people who start on the path to trading, no more than 5 are profitable after a couple years.

The remaining 95 have managed to feed the system with their dollars, supporting brokers, advisors, software vendors, data services, websites, publishers, convention producers, prop shop owners, and those of us who are fortunate enough to be around to take their money in trading.

The 95% figure is a general rule of thumb, and that's close enough for someone to figure their odds. Which are just above slim and none.

5. Fangdog

Fangdog