A shoulder to cry on

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by hjkl, Jul 9, 2005.

1. hjkl

hjkl

This has probably appeared here a thousand and one times, but I am feeling so upset and frustrated at the moment, I wish to talk about it.

I started trading 3 weeks ago; now my account is down 19%. It is not the losing that bothers me as much, since I perceive it as a necessary tuition fee. What really upsets me is the fact that I always make the same mistakes, again and again, without the ability to break from them.

From the books by Mark Douglas, I know that in the end it is a trader's psychological ability that determines his success. Every day, before the markets open, I even try by telling myself repeatedly to be disciplined and stick to my plan. However, once I am in the environment, I just cannot control my emotions, and make all the mistakes again:

- rush to enter into a position due to the fear of losing out;
    - when the price does not move immediately as expected, I begin to panic and close the position, before the stop is hit;
    - then the price begins to move in my original trade's direction; I blame myself for not sticking to the stop and mourn the profit I could have made, and miss the second opportunity to enter;
    - after that, the price takes off, and I just sit there, frozen, thinking of the mistake I made and the profit I missed, unable to enter when a new signal comes along.

This process repeats, and I am so upset and frustrated with myself. How can I break all these bad habits and learn discipline? Or am I simply not cut out for trading???:( :(

2. ozzy

ozzy

1) What are you trading, you did not mention this.
    2) You said you have only been trading 3 weeks. Give yourself 2 years before you decide whether or not you are cut out for trading.
    3) Trading takes time to learn just like anything else.
    4) Play as small as you possibly can over the next 6 months. Control Risk.
    5) Backtest your strategies.
    6) Do not get frustrated.