A question of "stock repair"

Discussion in 'Options' started by rickf, Feb 9, 2008.

1. rickf

rickf

I've never done a "stock repair" before and am curious if this would be a viable strategy for some shares that I just found out were in a relative's portfolio that I inherited recently.

The original position was 200 ABC at $100 cost basis. I'd like to get out of this position since I don't see a good reason to hold this particular position at the moment.

Assuming the underlying moves as intended, to exit at breakeven (or at least less than the big loss now) would this work as a "stock repair" strategy?

If ABC at $70 now, "double down" with another 200 shares....which should bring the position cost down to about $85. From there, employ a "stock repair" strategy (the 1x2 bull call ratio spread) to try and work for a breakeven exit at/around $85 barring any new disaster in the markets -- ie, 15 points is a bit easier to try and make up than 30.

Assuming the underlying moves as intended, do such "stock repair" strategies work well? I've read about them, but never done, let alone recommended, it before myself. Any thoughts from those more knowledgeble than I?

TIA.

2. rick, first clarification is YOUR basis in the inherited ABC stock is the price of the stock on the date of the decedent's death. It is not his/her cost basis. (IRS pub 17)

-Don't double down if you don't believe the stock will rise.

-1 by 2 ratio call spread works fine if the stock goes up, again do it if you believe the stock has a good chance at recovery and then some.

- do an ATM CC on it and let it get called out or just sell it if there are better opportunities elsewhere.

stock repair strats are only as good as your analysis and eventual rise/fall of the stock. So if its a position you would NOT chose to be in now...why bother to "repair" it?

3. rickf

rickf

Good point. "My" cost is actually a bit under 100 but I kept it simple in my description of the problem.