A question about using a Stop Order Loss

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by alanrof, Jan 17, 2001.

1. alanrof

alanrof

Hello,

I would like to use a direct access broker, since I'm an active trader. I been using a full access broker before there was any online brokers. I been reading alot of books on day trding and short term trading the past couple of years and been trading using E*Trade. The latest book I read is by Tony Oz and in his book "The Stock Trader" he mentions that he uses MB Trading. In this book, he shows an example of him buying a stock and using a Stop Price. I thought he put in a stop loss at the same time he bought that particular stock on the Nasdaq. When I called up MB Trading, I was told that you have to purchase that stock first, then you go back and put in a stock price in the Stop Price box. Is that true? I would purchase that stock not using on margin.

I then called up CyberCorp and I was told that I can use a trailing stop loss, a percentage stop, or just a price stop loss. I was told that I can use those three features at the same time I purchase a stock on the Nasdaq. Is that true? I went to dejanews.com and I couldn't find any information on stop loss question. How is MB Trading and CyberCorp compared to each other. I been doing alot of reseach but this is getting a little confusing. Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Alan

2. I'm surprised that your defined question wasn't answered before now. I'm not giving advise or making recommendation on any action of any kind, however, I believe you're describing using a Buy Stop order.