A question about ITM

Discussion in 'Options' started by traderwald, Jul 20, 2019.

1. Hi guys,

If a long option is ITM, what happens if I do not take any action on the last day of validity ?

i.e. if I neither sell the option nor exercise it ? Does it get automatically result in an exercise or sale ? Or neither (resulting in a loss of the value of the option purchase price when it was bought)

Thank you

2. I think it automatically gets exercised, but then I'm relatively new to trading options.

tommcginnis and traderwald like this.
  3. Amahrix

Amahrix

Auto-exercised, sometimes brokers liquidate the option back in market if you don’t have sufficient capital to take delivery.

tommcginnis and traderwald like this.

4. Thank you Amahrix.

At what price does it get liquidatef to the market ?

Also, if the long position was a covered position using the underlying - example long put and long underlying, I guess it would close the underlying position along with the long put option by doing an exercise correct ?

5. Amahrix

Amahrix

As far as the first part of your question goes.. it under the control of the risk management desk at your broker... up to them.

For Tastyworks they email me on expiration day and warn me about my positions that are in the money. Robinhood did the same, they always liquidated my positions on expiration. Sometimes it was annoying.

traderwald likes this.

6. Would they do it with a market order ? !

7. Amahrix

Amahrix

I’d assume they’ll do what’s best for their books, not yours, meaning they’ll do what’s necessary to not take unnecessary risk on their end and if that comes at a cost to you, then unlucky for you.

8. Amahrix

Amahrix

Here’s the message I get from tastyworks every expiration.

Hello,