A New Guy Asking Some Questions

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Corey, Sep 13, 2007.

1. Corey

Corey

Hey all,
    Just a quick history about myself, and then I will get to my questions! I am currently a junior at Cornell University studying Computer Science, with a concentration in financial markets.

My experience in the markets is in long-term bias only. I have been investing for several years in mutual funds, and about a year ago took complete control of my money and began investing on my own. I started off with winners and losers, taking my bumps along the way. This February was the first real market shakeout I experienced -- and being emotionally unprepared, I lost about 3% of my total capital -- even after the market had fully recovered. I certainly learned my lessons.

The majority of what I have learned has been self taught through books. I try to read everything I can get my hands on -- from basic personal finance books (e.g. The Richest Man in Babylon) to technical analysis books to autobiographies of traders ... and even to books on mob theory (recently picked up Extraordinary Popular Delusions & the Madness of Crowds). I am trying to get as wide a theoretically view about the markets as possible.

Currently, I believe I have developed a very, very good edge for long-term buys, and can take advantage of short term inefficiencies through options. I took a good inner look at myself, realized that I was quite risk adverse, wanted low volatility, and wanted to make sure bets. I created my own form of value investing using a bit of technical analysis to determine entry points. Back tested over 20 years, it has worked out really well -- and so far has been working great since I implemented it.