A Moveable Feast

Discussion in 'Journals' started by lencho, Jan 11, 2007.

1. lencho

lencho

Hey everyone! I’m a long-haul truck driver who is also very active in the markets. I want to trade full-time and will hopefully make the transition this year. Thought I would start a journal to document my progress towards that goal.

Back story: 8 years ago, I got tired of office politics and having a boss. Wanted to start a business, had a good idea, but needed funding. Why not trucking? The late-night commercials made it seem not so bad. So I sold everything, drove a truck all over the US for 2 years, had a decent time, and saved my money. Business idea had obsoleted itself by then, but the markets looked interesting. Studied up, quit job and became a full-time trader. Did well in the beginning. Switched from equities to options. Moved to central Mexico. Drank a lot of modelo's, chased senoritas, and blew up my account spectacularly. Came back to the US and started trucking again and trading on the side. Hated myself for wasting a good opportunity. Blew up several small accounts in over-leveraged attempts to get out of a job I was beginning to seriously dislike. Became very mad at myself for screwing up and then screwed up some more...and some more. Hated myself even more. Hit rock bottom and then quit trading for a few months. Switched from options to e-mini’s, grew up a little, and began studying MYSELF much more than the MARKETS. Slowly, my attitude began to improve and so did my trading. Coincidence? Maybe. So now I’m close to going full-time again. But I still need to be mentally stronger and more disciplined. I’m working on it.