A little guidance please…

Discussion in 'Forex' started by sgsaxton, Aug 25, 2005.

1. I’ve been trading every day, full time, for the last 8 months and I’m only just starting understand how the markets really work. As a result I’m gaining more confidence and really believe I will actually make it as a trader. I’m quite happy with my method but I have yet to fully master it.

I no longer panic when I lose money but it still takes me around an hour to get to terms with it. The majority of my losses have been due to the occasional meltdown, at which time I will ignore my rules and trade “on the fly”. This impulsiveness has been a real problem for me, accounting for a large percentage of my overall losses and I’m still trying to learn how to control over it. The most it’s been down is 16% and the highest it’s been was 97%. The only reason I’m still around is due to my risk management rules, which I do not violate.

I have a few questions for those of you who may have some insight:

·Do you know of any methods to help control impulsive trading?

·Do you guys think is would be wiser to focus on a single currency pair as opposed to trading several? (Up until now I’ve been trading as many as three). If so, is it practical to trade a single currency pair but using multiple time frames? In other words I may have a long position on derived from 2-hour chart, but trade in and around it using signals from a 10min chart in order to take advantage of opportunities in shorter time frames.

I appreciate your responses.
    Thanks.

2. 1. Trade only one pair.
    2. Trade only one time frame.
    3. Losses are part of the game. Love them. They are no problem if you always take them - lets say 20 pips away from your entry no matter what.
    4. Follow the news so you know what's going on and why the markets moves.

3. It's my opinion that the most important part of trading is to know the character of the market that your method needs to work.