A few health tips for traders...

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by retaildaytrader, Jun 17, 2010.

1. I am not a doctor and have no formal medical education so take the following for what its worth.

- The average person walks about 3 miles per day. Most jobs require some walking and getting up. So if you are not walking at least 3 miles per day then you are getting less exercise then the average person. Before the trading day starts, always walk/jog/run at least 3 miles and then when it ends go for another 1-2 miles. Throw in some pushups, situps, knee bends, jumping jacks, and wall sits and you have a more comprehensive workout.

- You should drink 13 cups of water per day per the Institute of Medicine. Start out the day drinking 2 16 oz "red cups" of water just as you get up. Then drink 1 16 oz cup at lunch and dinner. Everytime you urinate, down another 16 oz cup and then one right before bed. Keep a big gallon jug at your desk with the red cup.

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/water/nu00283

- Never "hold it". Go to the bathroom when your body says it wants to go. Drinking so much water will probably make you head for the toilet over 3 times a day, but this isnt a bad thing. You are helping your body get rid of waste by going frequently and keep chemical balances.

- Have at least 2 cups of coffee per day. Lots of literature on the health effects of coffee.

- Avoid eating out. Anything thats sold at a restaurant is going to be bad for you.

- Avoid sodium and sugar heavy foods. Soda is out. 1 slice of pizza contains over 50% of your sodium needs for the day. Watch those labels carefully when you go shopping.

- When you finally eat, go with small meals and only eat until your hunger is satisfied. Never fill yourself up.

- Keep your weight in check. These tables will seem impossible for some, but if you get your weight down to whats in these tables then you have won half the battle.

http://www.healthchecksystems.com/heightweightchart.htm