A couple of questions for a day trader...

Discussion in 'Trading' started by bcheary, May 12, 2007.

1. bcheary

bcheary

Does anyone out there play trends as a result of up and/or downgrades from analysts? Just watching the info on briefing.com, it looks like (with a handful of exceptions) that the equity in question usually reacts in the direction of the up or downgrade. Just curious to see if a day trader considers this info -- I'm sure it's a rookie question - I'm just learning.

2. I don't trade stocks so I can't answer your question directly.

But here's a thought:

Start a database, going back as far as you can getting the information on the UP/DOWNGRADES, and begin developing a system of trading which utilizes it if it has good positive expectancy.

If it works, I'll bet you dollars-to-donuts someone is already doing it.

Good trading,

JJ

3. ess1096

ess1096

http://books.google.com/books?id=Gw...ANALYSTS+SUCK&sig=VUWKSwMpm7SXiehLJqJTRMC7Xdc

Hopefully that link works. Not because I have any respect for Michael Parness but what he has to say about analyst in those pages is true.
    I tried playing the Briefing dot com upgrade MoMo when I was starting out. Now I trade on technical analysis and I notice that analysts are almost always late to the game. Analysts are usually fundamentalists. If you are daytrading you have to be a technician. You'll find that you'll always know when the analysts are about to upgrade the position you just took. :D

4. Analyst ratings almost always occur AFTER significant company news is released... News about positive earnings usually results in an upgrade, warnings result in a downgrade, and so forth.

It's better to filter a news stream (Dow Jones, AP, Vickers, Reuters) and watch for those events, followed by price changes (to weigh the quality of information). Identifying concurrently occurring news events (e.g., positive news -> upgrade) will improve the reliability of your forecasts.