7 tips to be a good trader

Discussion in 'Trading' started by fortuna, Dec 18, 2005.

1. fortuna

fortuna

Hello everybody,

I am a French trader and even if French must not be regarded very well recently :p , I enjoy reading threads at elitetrader.

As I learnt a lot from others, I 'd like to give a few hints to starters or also making contact with good traders.

I am a proprietary trader in a Swiss bank specialized in equity derivatives trading and managing quite a lot of money since a few years.

My first real hint is if you do some intraday , just play the pivot/fibo with past statistics telling which point will be be rather a reversal or a breakout. Mix these pivots with 5 minutes graph with 60 moving average. Don't underestimate what I just wrote, it is enough to make a trader's career.

My second real hint is buy low delta options. You will lose them 90% or even 99% of the time, but rare events happen more than you think and these options will make the difference with others once a year. (I make half my money with consistent and regular high probability strategies and the other half in 1 hour with rare events: thanks to Mr Taleb)

If that interest some, I will go on for more

Bibibibibibibi

Julien

2. Go on for more my french buddy.

3. Sacre Blue Beaujulais!!

4. duard

duard

Thanks the tips!!!

:p

5. zman06

zman06

yes, keep it going

6. fortuna

fortuna

only read those 3 books

Memoires d'un spéculateur (livermore)
    Fooled by randomness (nassim Taleb)
    Alchemy of finance (Soros)

7. scott2828

scott2828

thanks for the advice. where do I learn about the strategies you were discussing?

Scott

8. fortuna

fortuna

FOURTH HINT

If you really want to make some money, I know one real way to do it: ie ride a strong trend based on a fundamental vision.

Let me explain. Everything is about confidence. You need to be confident in your concept , construct your position and keep it intact until you don't believe anymore in this concept.