64-bit vs 32-bit

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Synonym, Oct 2, 2008.

1. Synonym

Synonym

Hi folks

i'm looking to upgrade my pc as my current one is decrepit. I'm not very technical and would really appreciate some help.

The new pc will be for trading only. It seems that currently XP (vs vista) is the way to go for stability, but is that the 64-bit or 32-bit? And which version do you recommend for stability and future scalability?

Plus, i have seen various OSs offered on different manufactrers sites and i'm not sure if these are actually different OSs or just different ways the manufacturers are terming them. I've seen XP64 and Vista with a downgrade to XP64 - are these the same thing or is the second one what it really sounds like, i.e. vista that emulates xp64? If so is that really inefficient and something to be avoided?

Something else i'd like to know is that if i went for XP64 and so could support more than 4gb of ram, would 32-bit software (multicharts to be exact), be able to make use of this extra ram on such a system or not? I'm thinking i'd like my backtesting to be as fast as possible. But would i be best observe the 4gb limit for now and upgrade down the line when it can be of more benefit?

And finally...i've looked at graphics cards and i really can understand which i would need. I'm looking to support 3/4 monitors, up to say 22".

I hope you guys can help. It's tough finding advice on systems for traders and the manufacturers/retailers sites can less than clear sometimes!

Thanks

Synonym

2. As far as I know, 32bit systems only support up to 3 GB of memory. If you have more built in you should go with 64bit. This is information I got while consulting tech support.

3. Synonym

Synonym

Thanks Palatine.

Yes it seems that 3 and a bit gb is the most a 32bit OS can use, but i'm not sure about a 64bit system emulating a 32bit one.