$5000 day, Is that what you would consider a good day?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by traderich, Feb 17, 2007.

Would you celebrate a $5000 day trading?

1. Yes, a 5 bagger is a huge day!

76 vote(s)
    53.1%
  2. No, a 5 bagger is just an average good day

24 vote(s)
    16.8%
  3. No, a 5 bagger is nothing at all

19 vote(s)
    13.3%
  4. Yes, a 5 bagger is enough to celebrate about!

24 vote(s)
    16.8%
  1. I am curious what everyone on ET considers a good day of trading.

What would be a good day of trading for you?

I am talking about a day that makes you really happy. Enough to go out and celebrate. One that would make you say, WOW! what a great day I had today trading.

I used to think that $5000 in a day would be incredible, but now that I have done it quite a few times, I am beginning to wonder if I am losing touch with reality.

When I worked as an engineer, I remember thinking how great it was when I got a job paying $65,000/year. Nowadays, I think of that as too little money for all the corporate bs.

So, let me know what is a big day for you. I am curious if I am completely out of touch or maybe there are guys who are pumping out some much bigger numbers.

By the way, I am talking about PCR,PYX,MOS,MH, PKG, and FBP yesterday. Bought in for 200,580. Sold for 205,780 MOC.

2. lwlee

lwlee

$5k is an outstanding day by any measure. If you could average that over a full year, you taking in $1.25 million.

If $5k is one of your best days, but say you average $1k-2k per day, then you averaging about $250k to $500k a year. It would put you in the top 5-10% of traders.

3. That's outstanding TR!
    I remember about a week ago you had a $2500-$3000 day,
    didn't you?
    I guess the big question is, how have the day's in-between the good days been?, particulary the losing days?
    If your good days are far outweighing your bad days and your
    risk to reward ratio is positive, then you have a good workable
    trading plan.