5 min chart, when to move stop up?

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by Technician, Nov 4, 2009.

1. hey guys, I'm a losing trader and would appreciate anything constructive

today I traded LNY breakout of yesterday's high. my target was R1. my question is when to move the stop up. I moved it to what I thought was a higher low, and then I got stopped by a couple cents soon after. what counts as a higher low?

I trade on a 5 min chart, but attached is 10 min

• lny.gif
      File size:
      8.2 KB
      Views:
  2. speres

speres

I'll try and answer some of your concerns but im a bit hungover today, but I'll try and make some sense :) hoping to get out on the bike today actually but anyways......

Well looks like your trading after a news event,the wide spread up bar, (now that bar is a very strong bar with no real selling into from the pros,) and your looking at the breakout of a daily high.... which is fine, so you can expect further strength, and anticipate the break of the daily high. Now, theres a few clues in that range after the wide spread bar that leads to the breakout....

After a breakout you usually get a pullback or a test of the support and you should be expecting one, so, if you traded the initial breakout then you could and probably should be taking profit on any sign of a pullback. which would be a break lower than a previous bar. sometimes price holds on a strong breakout and you wont get a retest..A trained eye will spot this..Theres actually some clues in the price action after the breakout that shows that we going to get a test of support, pips are pips so profit takin is always good, matters not if you only get half the move,If you leave the trade open, then a break lower of support WILL close the trade.