40% in 2011

Discussion in 'Journals' started by In2Deep, Feb 10, 2011.

1. In2Deep

In2Deep

I'm starting this journal to keep myself accountable to my goal of 40% ROC in 2011. A lurker for a some time now, this is my first time posting to ET but I've read a number of journals on this site that I found pretty enlightening which is what inspired me to do this.

A programmer by profession, I am relatively new to trading, gaining experience as I go. I did pretty well swing trading US equities in the latter part of 2010 but I'm less comfortable doing that in this market where value is getting harder to come by.

So still focusing on the US equity market, I'm introducing intra day trading techniques into my repertoire. Specifically what I've come to understand as RTM trading, or exploiting price distortions.

I've done reasonably well trading intraday under my paper account using this method so it is time to hit the market for real with a goal of 40% in 2011. I think that is a pretty aggressive goal for an arguably inexperienced trader like myself so I'm not sure what to expect.

This will be especially challenging since I am sitting at just a little better than break-even so far for the year. Today was my first day of serious intra day trading and I got my ass handed to me trying to fade the bullish EBAY news, taking a good chunk out of some swing trading profits I've managed to accumulate since the beginning of the year.

Also, in this thread I will probably talk about the performance of my automated swing trading system which I just finished developing (I am a programmer after all, it would be silly of me not to have an ATS). Currently I'm testing it under my Interactive Brokers paper trading account and it has about one week of paper trading under it's belt and its modestly profitable.