4-1 Intraday Margin Ratio

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by cutetrader, Nov 22, 2016.

1. Does any know if we need to have minimum of $25K in account to u sethe 4:1 Day Trade Margin?
    or
    even if I have just minimum $2K I can still use 4:1 Margin?

2. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

I'm not an expert on Reg-T margin. My expertise is more with PM. But with that said, this is my understanding:

Approved for Margin Account: 2X both DT and overnight
    Approved for DT Margin account: 4X DT and 2X overnight

No, you can't be approved for DT margin with an account under $25K. Also, with under $25K, you are limited to the number of day-trades you can make over a period of time.

http://www.finra.org/investors/day-trading-margin-requirements-know-rules

3. Overnight

Overnight

You could try your broker's "what the hell am I doing" page on their website, also known as a FAQ. Or maybe call them on the phone? Or you could just send any number of people here your $2K and we'll give you all the margin you need.

4. Thanks Robert. Even I thought the same. From my understanding TradeStation and LightSpeed has various types of account but most other brokers just say Margin Account nothing specific to Day Trading.

Example - IB Just have Margin, Cash and PM Accounts
    ETrade has Margin or Cash Acc
    Options House has Margin or Cash Acc

Just going through the FAQ of the link below and they are fine with 4:1 Margin for just 10K
    https://www.tc2000brokerage.com/pricing

5. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

You will be limited to 3 day trades in five business days.

What is a pattern day trader?
    You will be considered a pattern day trader if you trade four or more times in five business days and your day-trading activities are greater than six percent of your total trading activity for that same five-day period.

6. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor