30yr T-bond vs. 10/5 yr T-Note

Discussion in 'Financial Futures' started by FT79, Mar 20, 2008.

1. FT79

FT79

Hi All,

When reading books about trading the US bond markets (I’m from Europe) all the big traders trade the T-bond future (market wizards, street smarts, martin schwartz, etc). But when watching the volume of the 10/5yr T-Note they’re app. twice as high compared with the T-bond. Can anyone explain why the volume of the T-bond is so low compared with other interest rate products on ECBOT?

Thanks,
    FT79

2. ycomp

ycomp

could be that the books are a bit old?

tbonds sure seem more fun to trade. I am new to futures but from what I read apparently US Govt stopped issuing 30 yr bonds or something like that a while ago? But now they issue them again?

anyhow, these are just some points for you to investigate... as you can see I'm short on specifics 'cause I don't really know what I'm talking about :)

I just noticed that "liquidity" is low on this board so decided to post, just in case nobody gives you a response.

Also bund has more liquidity than the 30 yr, but since you are from europe, I'm sure you know about that already.

3. I made a similar inquiry a few days ago.

The following is an edited cut and paste of the exchange.

Hope it helps.

CC

---

Youngtrader: " ... To be honest it seems like everyday CBOT treasuries become more and more of a joke. Eurex is the only way to go imo ... "

Chevy Chase: "... Youngtrader, I'd like to get more of your thoughts regarding the transition of the 30 year bond futures (to being a "joke" - as you said). Always thought it was seriously liquid (to be clear - I would only be trading the day sessions) ... "

DblArrow: " ... Go back and look backwards in history - check volume before the 30 yr was discontinued, then look at volume while it was dicontinued, then look at volume when it was re-institued and now look at volume with the initiation of 1/64 ticks.

They done ruined it!! ... "

More from DblArrow: