3-6% per month long term with Forex ?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by trade2live, May 26, 2012.

1. I have been trading FX for a few years with satisfactory results (if I don't take into account the time spent on this) .
    I use leverage up to 1:10 , generally 1:2, 1:3. My goal is to make 30 % p.a. over the long term or more (more of course is always better).

I checked out the perfomance of a number of so called Forex managers out there, and of systems with live money results on different FX websites, and there are quite a few of them making 5 % or so consistently every month. Many of the systems have less than 2 years in existence, I guess a lot eventually blow up , but some managers appear to have those results for 3 years or more .

Of course I know it's possible to do it, but that "so many" are able to do it, doesn't look right, considering what real professional FX managers make (CTA, for ex.) . Recently I looked at 2 or 3 of those managers taking small accounts on the web and they were all making 3-5 % pretty much every month, with DD less than 10% and one of them had 4-5 sytems with that kind of performance !

So what so you think ?

2. put your head down and run your own edge game.

you can easily get the same roi by ramping up the leverage over time on your own terms.

disregard the rest of the smoke out there as it makes no difference what others do.

s

:cool:

3. I think it is very difficult to beat the long bond. In the end, that's what those that survive must do. If you can beat it, Goldman and JPM will be knocking on your door begging you to manage money for them.

There was a time when my mother was beating it just by being long the S&P. As a matter of fact, over the last twenty years she has outperformed 80% of all professional money managers.

If they are making 5% a month from now till the end of time, sign me up, that is more than I need.