21 and clueless

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by guntd, Sep 6, 2006.

1. guntd

guntd

hi, found this forum randomly, saw some good threads and thought why not start a thread and see if i could get some help. basically im 21, play poker, go to ucsd for bioengineering and have about 25k to trade with. ive been trading for a couple months, but really dont know what im doing. i read the news and basically buy when i think the stock is coming back up and sell when i have a nice profit.
    anyways ive always believed that whenever you start something you should get a good book or website and read up. thats what i did with poker and it worked well.
    so if anyone wants to recommend a good read that would be awesome. if someone whos done this for a while wants to be a mentor that would be even better( but i dont know what i can really offer in exchange for a mentor).

alright thats all, sorry if this is considered spam at all.

2. The 3 very best books I've read on trading during the past 9 years:
    - Rules of the Trade, David S. Nassar
    - Reminiscences of a Stock Operator, Edwin Lefèvre
    - Against the Gods, Peter L. Bernstein
    - Trading in the Zone, Michael Douglas
    - Encyclopedia of Chart Patterns, Thomas N. Bulkowski

And the best advice I can give you:
    trade small size while you learn and read a lot!

3. If you had to read just one book, it would be Reminiscences of a Stock Operator.

4. Market Wizards (jack schwager)

and for entertainment: Education of a Speculator (Victor Neiderhoffer)

5. There will be other data/charting suggestions - here's mine...

1. Open an account with IB so you get free real time data.

2. Get Ensign for charting. It's a great charting package but here's 2 aces for you

3. Do lots of trials and tests on the chart simulator and simutlaor broker placing paper trades on strategies you are testing