2013 [P&L journal]

Discussion in 'Journals' started by masterm1ne, Jan 3, 2013.

1. For all/most of my past trading, I have left at least one part or more of my trading up to an undetermined factor. I felt the effect as my 24k account has dwindled to 8k (-16k) after it peaked at 33k early in 2012. All of my past trading profits/losses are due to the fact that I was not trading an edge or plan that encompassed every aspect of trading and was therefore essentially gambling.

At the tail end of 2012, I started to see the results of having nothing left to subjectivity. I've been testing very closely related concepts since July 2012, with slight modifications to this point. Statistics/back-tests show I have an edge and I am slowly accumulating screen time trading this edge. My last challenge is replicating back-test results in forward tests.

This year, I've simplified my indicators a bit. I still abide by the same principles as I discussed before. I have no doubt in my mind that this year I should be able to end in the green. My short term goal this year is to get to a point where I am comfortable trading 5 ES contracts, which shouldn't be too big of a deal because I have before. I don't plan on trading 5 contracts until I feel comfortable and am demonstrating statistically that I should be doing so. I still work full time so of course can't trade every day.

This year I will keep track of every individual trade in addition to end of the month totals I've been doing. Don't expect real time calls. This journal is really for me and no one else.

Previous threads: -2012-2011-2010-

2. Slow start to the year. I got back from vacation this past Sunday, and worked Mon and Tue.

The stats for my refined strategy are below. I have pre-entry, entry and exit rules. As far as I can see at this point, I am leaving nothing to chance.

[​IMG]