20% up in one month, can it be maintained ?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by abdo, Jun 1, 2006.

1. abdo

abdo

I know this may sound familiar but it truly happened to me and I liked to get your feedback about it.

I started trading one month ago just knowing some of the basics and not even familiar with all order types.

I started with $3000 and in one month I gained $600, actually during this month in just one week I was up to $4000 then was pulled down to $2600 then made it back up to finally $3600.

I never put stop loss orders either with the broker or even mentally.

I usually pick low priced stocks that I feel can't go any lower although most of these stocks have a daily volume of not more than 100,000 shares like WEX.

I will fund my account with another $6000 to maximize my gains.

Although from what I read I know I should lose but I really find this very easy or may be I have a good sense in picking stocks ?!

2. Do it for 3 years in a row consistently then you will have your own answer. Also doing it on $3,000 is much easier than doing it on $150,000 in one month depending on your strategies.

Yesterday I saw a rookie in baseball hit a homerun in his first at bat. Naturally that means he will hit 40 HRs a year for the next 10 years right?

3. Congrats, if you have a viable strategy, you may continue to do well. However, it is more than likely that your no stop loss plan will put you out of the game. One other point, the markets were exceptional for trading the past month.....markets like this allow you to make big mistakes and still make money.

Continued success to you!

4. Depends on what level of drawdown you're ok with. Also consider that if you are trading a breakout strategy, you should look for stocks that exhibit volatility compression. And vice versa, if you are trading a fading/rangebound strategy.

5. sound like he has no plan and that the strategy is not viable.