1x2 Call Ratio Calendar Spread/ bullish option strategies

Discussion in 'Options' started by eagle4x, Aug 28, 2013.

1. eagle4x

eagle4x

Hello,
    My first post here, and I'm requesting some advice. I am looking to trade options on stocks. The stock picks are from various sources such as Motley Fool's Million Dollar Portfolio, MF Stock Advisor/Income Investor, Magic Diligence (under valued cherry picked stocks based on Joel Greenblatt's Magic Formula Investing), Sabrient Systems, etc. I'm confident based on the excellent track record of these services that I have a good basket of stocks to choose from for option trades, which I want to trade because of leverage opportunities. However, my dilemma is finding the best bullish options strategy. I'm not a beginner trading options but no expert either. I am using an options screener to help find trades for the stocks I select and the best strategy. My main objectives for an options trade are the following:

1) Unlimited profit potential
    2) Capped risk (< $500)
    3) Probability of profit (>51%)
    4) Relatively low break even (on average no more than 5 to 6 pts.above/below stock price but flexible for more volatile stocks).
    4) Front mo. expiration at least 60 days out, up to 2 years out, *I'm not a day trader).

Using an options screener, I think I have found a strategy that meets my objectives - it is called a 1x2 call ratio calendar spread.

For example, I'm considering a trade on Facebook. After I checked on 1x2 call ratio calender spread for FB, one of the choices available (out of many showing), I chose the following along with the results of the scan:

S1 11/13 41C @ 3.28
    (IV = 45.8%, vol = 96, delta -52.58%, gamma -4.6%, vega -7.5%, theta 2,2)

B2 02/14 46C @ 2,24
    (IV = 40.9%, vol = 323, delta 36.27%, gamma 3.62%, vega 9.5%, theta -1.4)

Entry Debit = $120
    Max Profit = Unlimited
    Probability of Profit = 57.94%
    Max Risk = $-120
    Downside BE = $38.76
    Upside BE = $38.76